Wheatbelt Science Hub was announced as a successful recipient of funding through the Royalties for Regions Community Chest Fund at an event in Northam today.

The Hon. Terry Redman MLA, Minister for Regional Development; Lands formally announced the funding, which will contribute towards the development of a science trail throughout the wheatbelt region, as well as a geotrail using GPS technology.


WSH chair Cec McConnell accepting the funding certificate from Hon Terry Redman MLA. The WSH committee would like to acknowledged the voluntary hours Cec contributed to the development of the trail concept.

The unique project will combine science, education, tourism, outdoor recreation and economic development. “Our committee sees this trail as an innovative way for the wheatbelt to tap into the experience economy. Locals and tourists alike will be able to explore our region’s science at their own pace in a low cost, approachable way,” explained Project Manager Rhiannon Bristow-Stagg.Wheatbelt Science Hub’s mission is to foster partnerships that connect science and people, and since August 2015 they have engaged over 2,500 community members in STEM activities. From the outset WSH also identified the need to connect and develop the region’s STEM workers. This funding will be critical to help WSH work towards this mission in such a large region.

Wheatbelt Science Trail will be a large-scale project involving hundreds of participants and many partners. The project delivery will also be supported through funding from Inspiring Australia and in-kind contributions by WSH volunteers, Department of Education, Department of Agriculture and Food WA and Wheatbelt Natural Resource Management Inc.

Further announcements will be made once the project commences. In the meantime you can contact Wheatbelt Science Hub at [email protected]


At the announcement in Northam: Hon Terry Redman MLA (Minister for Regional Development; Lands); Hon Mia Davies MLA (Member for Central Wheatbelt); Rhiannon Bristow-Stagg (Project Manager, Wheatbelt Science Hub); Pam I’Anson (Wheatbelt Science Hub committee/ DAFWA); Cec McConnell (Chair Wheatbelt Science Hub); Velu Ramasamy (Wheatbelt Science Hub committee / DET); Dr Simon Carroll (Scitech Director Science Partnerships).